Often described as the best campsite bar in Britain, the atmosphere in this building is without doubt, unique! To many the bar represents a great place to swap stories and tales about the day’s events.
The original building was erected in 1648 as an agricultural barn. It is attached to the farmhouse in the traditional Cumbrian Long barn style. The barn was rebuilt in 1752. The Barn was converted into a bar in 1963. Little has been changed to the main structure since the original conversion.
Young children have their own playroom with table football and air hockey. Older children (and adults!) can play on the pool table upstairs. Recent work includes a complete new Westmorland slate roof which boasts Scandinavian levels of thermal insulation, a new sandstone flag floor and carbon neutral heating. Life has never been as warm!
The Bar is open between 4pm and 10pm everyday. We are open to all.